Saturday, February 19, 2005

the franciscan crown rosary

Somewhere along the way, someone gave me a Franciscan Crown Rosary. I've never really used it much, though I keep it by my bed. Here is a link to information about the Franciscan Crown Rsoary and its origins. This Rosary has seven decades, rather than the usual five, on which one is meant to contemplate the Seven Joys of the Blessed Virgin:

1. The Annunication
2. The Visitation
3. The Birth of our Lord
4. The Addoration of the Magi
5. Finding the Child Jesus in the Temple
6. The Ressurection of our Lord
7. The Assumption of the BVM and her Corronation as Queen of Heaven

A good thing about the Franciscan Crown Rosary (as well as a bad thing, I guess) is that its longer than the regular Rosary, and allows one, in theory, to enter "more deeply" into the prayer.

1 comment:

Anonymous said...

Thank you for posting on the Franciscan Crown Rosary and Our Lady of Mt. Athos. As usual, wonderful material. Pax